A Blog With No Name

An Open Letter to BH&G

Posted on: January 7, 2011

The Ghosts of Christmas Past

 

Dear Better Homes and Gardens:

I want to thank you for your e-mail subscription to “Better Homes and Gardens 100 Days of Holidays.”  The inspiration I received from your daily offerings was instrumental in making me a legend among my facebook friends.

In a word:  cookies.  I have mad skills in the cookie baking category, and your beautiful high resolution photographs of professionally decorated confections merely added fuel to the fire of my cookie-baking fervor.  Under your expert tutelage I, starting in late November, made Chocolate Butter Cookies, Mexican Wedding Cookies, My Mom’s Traditional Holiday Cheese Cookies, Cranberry-White Chocolate Chippers, Pearls-‘N-Chocolate Cookies, Gingerbread Cookies, M-and-M Cookies, Coconut Macaroons, and loaf upon loaf of Banana Cream Cheese Bread. 

Yesterday I threw away Chocolate Butter Cookies, Mexican Wedding Cookies, Cranberry-White Chocolate Chippers, Pearls-‘N-Chocolate Cookies, Gingerbread Cookies, M-and-M Cookies,  and Coconut Macaroons.

Something tells me I made too many cookies.  To our credit, we did finish off the cheese cookies and the banana bread, but there is still cheese cookie dough in the fridge which dates back to the pre-Christmas era.

So if you would please unsubscribe me from your “100 Days of Holidays” newsletter, I would be appreciate it. In the future I will be subscribing to a service that offers weight loss advice and psychological help for compulsive bakers.

My sister gave me this awesome snowman cookie jar for Christmas. I love this snowman. He has a story, if only he could tell it.

Leave a Reply

