A Blog With No Name

In Celebration of Green Day: Eco Boosting

Posted on: April 29, 2012

In celebration of Earth Day, the Hambo Hoedown challenge this week was to use something recycled in a card.  The cute digital image they gave us this week as a prize for joining the challenge of the week before is an adorable billy goat with three cute sentiments.  Here’s my card.

Here's Looking at You, Kid!

Hambo Hoedown 63 - Recycled Card using "Goat" Digi by Hambo Stamps

I always feel like such a slacker because my papers and embellies and such are all mixed up and out of their original packages, so I can’t credit the designers.  I know the patterned paper was in one of the dollar bins at Target — you know, for a buck they have some pretty great stuff!  I painted Hambo’s “Goat” digital image with my new Crayola watercolors (hey, big spender!).  I’m pretty sure the flower came from a kit my kids bought years ago to make leis for a Hawaiin luau!  So you could say that is recycled, as well.  But my big score for the week was…….

RicRac

99 Cent RickRack!

Check it out!  Here’s the rick rack I used on my card.  I went to visit my Art School Daughter and she took me to the most awesome thrift store in the world, where I got all this luscious rick rack for only 99 cents!  I’ll plug them because they are so cool:  Fan Thrift, if you’re ever in Richmond, Virginia.  You have to go there, and take money.  They have everything you need.

And since I’m always talking about Art School Daughter, and since we’re talking about recycling, here’s a treat:

Shoe Dress

Art School Daughter models recycled dress made out of shoes at VCUArts Eco-Fashion show.

This is one of my beautiful daughters, who is a Graphic Design major at VCUArts.  They had an Eco-Fashion show on Earth Day, and she modeled this dress which she designed and made completely out of recycled materials….in this case, shoes and shoelaces!  She won second prize!  So creative.

Thanks again to Hambo Stamps for their cute and creative stamps and digital designs!  Card makers, you have to go to their site and look at their great stuff!

3 Responses to "In Celebration of Green Day: Eco Boosting"

Great way to use the ric rak! You card is so bright and cheerful! Thanks for joining us at the Hoedown!

Wonderful card! How could you not use that wonderful ric rack for a buck?! 🙂 thanks for playing the hoedown and congratulations to your daughter!

Hi! Your comment and color combo won the random draw for my Hambo card. VCan I send it to you? Please email me at patacake1956@yahoo.com with your address, and thanks for leaving love on my blog: http://patacakespages.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

