A Blog With No Name

Spring Comes for Bailey!

Posted on: May 6, 2012

I am totally enjoying dancing at the Hambo Hoedown!
Come join us as we use the adorable Hambo Stamps digital stamps to make the cutest cards ever!

I never seem to find time to work on my challenge card until the very.  last.  minute.  Same thing happened this week…..I finished my card at about 8 o’clock on Sunday night.  I have really enjoyed checking back at the Hambo Hoedown blog every day or two and getting inspired by the creative and talented artists who manage to get their cards done and linked before the very last minute.

This week’s challenge:  Using the sweet digi “Bailey Flower”, create a card using the hot color combo for 2012:  hot pink, orange, and purple!  Here’s my card.

Bailey Flower

Hambo Challenge 64 – Bailey Flower

I’m actually not unhappy with the way my card turned out!  I am trying to learn ways to make CAS (clean and simple) cards that don’t look, well, simple.  I tried to up the ante a little bit by using ink around the edges of my card stock oval mats, and by adding a little bit of texture with the ribbed purple card stock.  Note to self for next time:  add a little bit of white matting to make the colors “pop” against each other!

I colored Bailey with Prismacolors.  Knowing that I was going to be pressed for time, I picked up a $1 sheet of flower stickers at Wal-mart in the right colors Friday.  Everything else is random scraps from my scrap box.

I want to direct some love to a fellow Hambo Hoedowner who is very talented, and from whom I won a beautiful card!  Check out “Patacake Pages” at http://patacakespages.blogspot.com.  Pat’s a real professional with a beautiful blog, and I thank her for being so generous with her artwork!  She also has great music on her blog.

This coming week marks a lot of personal changes for my family.  Art School Daughter is coming home for the summer, and she and I are planning to hunker down and do some major cleaning, decluttering, and yard sale-ing.  Psychology Student Daughter is moving into her very first grown-up apartment, so dh and I will be moving furniture all day Tuesday.  This is bittersweet for me as  a parent:  one the one hand, I’m sad that she’ll probably not be coming home to live, but happy that I’ll be turning her room into my guest room/craft room. Later on this month, Music School Daughter has some important audition and interviews, so we would all appreciate prayers and good vibes throughout the month of May!

Thanks again to Hambo Stamps for the free digis and the challenges.
Join in the Hambo Hoedown with us!

1 Response to "Spring Comes for Bailey!"

Fantastic job with our color challenge! Love the LO!

Sorry for the late comment…I was on vacations!

Thanks for playing at the hoedown!
Jenn

Leave a Reply

